Winners of the 2011 Turner Prizes and the SHA Ethnographic Fiction and Poetry Contests

Winners of the 2011 Turner Prizes and the SHA Ethnographic Fiction and Poetry contests.

Turner Prize winners

The Turner Prize committee, composed of Regna Darnell, Tracey Heatherington, and Misty Bastian, awarded first prize to Neni Panourgiá for her Dangerous Citizens: The Greek Left and the Terror of the State (Fordham). Second prize went to Amira Mittermaier for Dreams that Matter: Egyptian Landscapes of the Imagination (California). The committee decided to award a special prize for an Oral History and Collaborate Ethnography and they selected Shirleen Smith and the Gwich’in First Nation’s People of the Lakes: Stories of Our Van Tat Gwich’in Elders/Googwandak Nakhwach’ànjòo Van Tat Gwich’in (Alberta).

Ethnographic Fiction winner

The committee of Jessica Falcone and Kirin Narayan awarded the Ethnographic Fiction prize to Kristen Ghodsee for her short story, “Tito Trivia.”

Ethnographic Poetry winners

The committee of Misha Cahmann-Taylor, Lorraine Healy and Renato Rosaldo awarded ethnographic poetry prizes of first place to Carolyn Moore for “Translator’s Notes on the Island of Unst’s Norn Fragment, Forkortning Saga,” second place to Susan Settlemyre Williams for “KV55: Its Voices,” third place to W. F. Lantry for “Yungas Valley,” and honorable mention to Worth Summers for “Coyote, Clacier Point Winter” and Christine Eber for “Do You Want Me To Cut More Vegetables, Boss?”

For more on the winning entries click SHA Prize Winners

Views: 98


OAC Press



© 2020   Created by Keith Hart.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service